21st Century Learning Professional Development Connection

Today I had the opportunity to attend a professional development session at my student teaching internship school on 21st century learning. I was invited by my mentor teacher and I thought it would be a great opportunity for me because I have been working on this course and my action research project on technology use in the classroom. Before attending the session, teachers read the text 21st Century Skills: Learning For Life in Our Times by Bernie Trilling & Charles Fadel and wrote down some ideas for their school. The text used for the PD session covered a vast amount of ideas, but the main focus was how the world has changed in the last few decades, and that the roles of education and teaching have changed forever and will continue to change. We discussed the idea of what is a 21st century education. After referring to the text and teacher analysis of the text it was decided that a 21st century education focuses on knowledge of the core subjects like math, reading, writing, but also emphasizes global awareness, economics, and environmental concerns. In order for our students to become 21st century learners they will need certain technology skills. Additionally, since the world is constantly changing, students need to have critical thinking and problem solving skills.

Since we have started this course I have been testing my own critical thinking and problem solving skills, whether I’m analyzing a reading or learning new technology. It is important that students have problem solving skills so that they can consistently work to solve a problem. When we were discussing possible ways for students to learn critical thinking and problem solving skills we discussed collaboration, communication, and social learning. Students need face-to-face and virtual collaboration and communication. According to the text, collaboration has been proven to increase learning motivation and develop social skills. It mentions that “a wide variety of online communication tools and environments that support social, collaborative, and community approaches to learning are now available. Since the internet is global, students can now be global learners, connecting and learning with others around the planet.”  This makes me think about the lessons we have learned about global learners, and the need for students to become informed citizens of the digital world.

Although this PD session was not part of class, I thought that it brought our class full circle for me and this session made my learning more authentic. When we were sharing about different technology in the classroom I informed them of my experiences in this class, and I was invited to join the technology team meetings when I start my internship. I look forward to using technology and teaching 21st century learners to the best of my ability.

 

Text Source: 21st Century Skills: Learning For Life in Our Times by Bernie Trilling & Charles Fadel

Leave a comment