Digital Story Assignment

Creative Commons License
Natural Resources Movie by Daphne O’Donnell is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://slm508deo.wordpress.com/2011/06/26/83/.

My digital story supports the Maryland Science Curriculum for 2nd grade standard 6.1 Natural Resources and Human Needs, ‘Recognize and explain how Earth’s natural resources from the natural environment are used to meet human needs.’ In an instructional setting, I would use this video to start a unit on natural resources in order to get students thinking about what natural resources are and how they need natural resources. Before sharing this video with students I would share with them that I was the photographer, and that I wanted to share natural resources that I found in order to make that  personal connection. Since this is for a 2nd grade class I would take questions from them at the end to extend what they learned, and I would  have them share where they can find natural resources or how they use them.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    karenk2011 said,

    Daphne,
    You did a great job on your digital story. I liked the transitions, the images and how you incorporated them into your script. The music was soft and did not distract the viewer. So many videos I see on YouTube have music that can distract the viewer, especially young viewers, and detract from the value of the video. I think this is a good intro to understanding the definition to natural resources. I think you could use this and adapt it to a lesson on ecology conservation around Earth Day. The images are strong and carry your point across well.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment